let us be your rock

Award Recipients

Below you will find a list of past award recipients during our annual "Leading the Way" Gala

"Founders" Award- This award was presented in 2010 to Saint Paul's United Methodist Church and Revered John Fletcher. At that time Alzheimer's Project, Inc. had been in existence for over 19 years, thanks to the foresight of the church and the leadership of Rev. Fletcher.

"Lifetime Achievement" Award- This award is presented to individuals who provide a "lifetime" of dedication and support to Alzheimer's Project, Inc. and our mission.

2011- Elaine McConnaughhay

"Leading the Way" Award- This award is presented to individuals who "Lead the Way" in the community, county or state in regards to the care of persons with Alzheimer's disease and creating greater awareness for the disease.

2006- Senator Bill Nelson

2007- Senator Al Lawson, Jr.

2009- Alice Pomidor, MD, MPH

2010- Angela Hill, Pharm D

2011- Ken Brummel-Smith, MD

2012- Alice-Ann Darrow, PhD

2013- Scott Harrell

2014- Elaine McConnaughhay

"Sharon L. Vause" Caregiver of the Year Award- This award is presented to a caregiver of a person with Alzheimer's disease or a related dementia who has demonstrated dedication and beautiful care of their loved one.

2004- Marie Chisolm

2005- Lee Vause

2006- CJ Weinman

2007- Phala Bernhardt

2008- Ann Boyd

2009- Nancy Reynolds-Smith

2010- Carl Hanks

2011- Regina Sofer

2012- Tommy Merritt, Velinda Williams

2013- Mary Bown

2014- Dawn Aguero

"Van Weinman" Volunteer of the Year Award- This award is presented to a volunteer who exemplifies what a volunteer should be. A person who gives selflessly to ensure that the needs of both the client and the caregiver are met. Our volunteers assist with everything from respite, office work, Project Lifesaver battery changes and much more. Without our over 200 volunteers, Alzheimer's Project, Inc. would struggle to meet our client and caregivers needs.

2005- Beverly Stockseth

2006- Ralph Kenyon

2007- Muriel Thielen

2008- Jim Cosper

2009- Joel Murphree

2010- Pat Ashley

2011- Lori Chandler and Mary McMahon

2012- Ginny Cavallaro and Ken Buchanan

2013- Sandy Friedman

2014- Rosa LeFranc

Service Partner of the Year- This award is presented to an outstanding service partner who continues to provide support for our much needed respite and support group efforts.

2011- Killearn United Methodist Church

2012- Lake Ellen Baptist Church

2013- Temple Israel

2014- Thomas Memorial Baptist Church

Community Hero Award- This award is presented to local organizations that provide outstanding efforts to support Alzheimer's Project, Inc.'s mission and goals through additional fundraisers and community awareness.

2009- Keith Baxter (owner of Kool Beanz Cafe)

2010- Blossoms Flowers

2011- Pilot Club of Tallahassee

2012- Harbor Chase Assisted Living Community

2013- FSU College of Medicine

2014- Tallahassee Parrot Head Club

Alzheimer's Education and Training Award- This award was presented in 2010 to Tom McGough, MS. Tom was the director of the former Alzheimer's Resource Center and a major leader in the community for the advancement of Education and Training for the annual Alzheimer's Education Conference held in the spring of each year, as well as providing training to local Assisted Living Facilities, Nursing Homes and Home Health Care agencies.